How do I build confidence?

I have a lot of confidence in myself when it comes to things I've already done before, like my academic and work accomplishments. Those are the areas of life I know I can succeed. I don't have any confidence in my ability to socialize or go out on dates because I have very little experience. There is no foundation to build on. I can talk to men when I'm with them in a work setting, but there is no possibility of rejection. When meeting new people, I feel very insecure about them finding out I have no dating history and very few friends.

Comments

• You said you have a lot of confidence in your work and academics right? You just need to transfer some of that confidence into the social environment. Think of it like this, anytime you want to talk to someone whether it's a cute guy or just a possible new friend tell yourself "If I can do *academic/work achievement* I can DEFINITELY talk to this person". And make sure you know how wonderful you really are haha, I don't mean be arrogant just self-aware. Tell yourself that people are lucky to be talked to by you.

• This is gonna sound dumb but i guarantee that it works. When u wake up in the morning look in the mirror and say ten good things about yourself, about your personality, about how kool you are or how pretty or how smart. Pretty soon your gonna start to feel that way because the fact that you are is always gonna be on your mind, and as far as experience goes, the only way to fix that is to well, get experience. Flirt with some people, walk up to a random person and start up a fun conversation. The whole dating game/scene is all about being comfortable in your own skin..its about being secure enough to express your whole self to another person. Remember to always tell yourself you can handle it.

Be cool.

Be calm.

Be collected.

The rest will handle itself..i promise...good luck and God bless